How-to: Blog Commenting

Standard

Blogs are usually the work of an individual or a group and tend to be about a single subject (WikiPedia). But how boring would it be if that was all they were?  There wouldn’t be any of the fun that infinite networking on the internet allows! This is why Blog commenting is so important! Comments turn blogs into interactive wonderlands and awesome places to share ideas, interests, news, etc.

virtuel-tree illustration Illustration By Frits hikingartist.com

But how does one leave comments?

When writing blog comments it’s important to remember to be polite, to the point, and within the context of the post you’re commenting on. Almost all bloggers love to have their blogs commented on (speaking from experience and research) but not from people who are rude or inappropriate.

Here’s Amanda; her Serenity Now blog discusses 8 reasons why she likes to have people comment on her posts. Number 3 in her list says, “If you comment on my blog, you might get featured on my blog” . This is a perfect example of how one’s comment can expose their work to a whole new circle of traffic. With that in mind, make sure that you would be able to defend whatever you post on the internet because you are  responsible for what you say.

If you’re seeking a more in depth step-by-step summary of how to blog, here’s a site that I loved: The Ten Commandments of Blogging.

Happy Blogging!

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

One response »

  1. Bringing out the big guns linking Deb Ng to your post, huh? In addition to commenting, once you get to know someone, offering to Guest Post there can be a great way to get known and have more people stop by your place.

    Don’t be afraid to comment; if you see something worth commenting on just drop right in and write away.

    Best of luck on your journey; you can tell your teacher I have been comment bombing her students. You can also tell her War Eagle…….:)

Leave a Reply

