Planting My Own Social Media Garden

Standard

In my efforts searching for a good definition of what types of Social Media exist I’ve come across so many different ones!

Media Garden by j&tplaman

When Google -ing the phrase, social media, I came to this O’Neill Communications Blog, which I found the most helpful. In this blog, “OCI” describes some of the different types of social media.

Reading through them reminded me of my first interactions with social media back when I was in 6th grade. I can remember being overwhelmed at how fast some of my friends could type on the discussion media, AOL instant messenger, so overwhelmed that it challenged me to learn so I could keep up with them. A couple of years tilling and typing later I was addicted to Myspace. A lot of my friends were using this social network to spread gossip, but I loved it because it had features that allowed the user to decorate one’s profile by adding pictures, music, glittery backgrounds and weeding out inappropriate friends/content. It was a great way to express myself.

By the time I was in High School, I was sowing  in the social network, Facebook, and I still use it to this day! I often find myself addicted to it too. It’s just a great place not only to express myself as I once did on Myspace, but also to keep in touch with distant family and friends.

Because I didn’t explore the many areas of Social Media before college, I never would have thought that I would be a Marketing Major and a Public Relations minor. But here I am! Because of my new found interests (and coursework), I now find myself using Pinterest, WordPress, and YouTube in addition to Facebook. I’m also exploring other sites such as Ragan’s PR News DailyTwitter , StumbleUpon, and plan to get to know many other sites as I find use for them.

I use Pinterst to satisfy my love for Photography, graphic design, and DIY crafts but it’s also great for inspiration in all kinds of categories! I’m new to Word Press, but I’m currently using it to learn more about blogging and the aspects of Publishing Media in my Writing for Public Relations class at SEU. YouTube has been a part of my life for a long time as well as Facebook, but now I use it primarily to watch music videos and DIY tutorial videos for all kinds of things from hair styles to dinner recipes to planting a garden!

I can’t wait to learn more about the diverse topic of social media and in my journey I hope to get increasingly connected and watch my interests and knowledge grow!

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

