Grammar Girl (Noun): Online Grammar Expert

Standard

Grammar Girl is certainly quite the grammarian and has definitely won the right to be referred to as a noun (like “google” has become a verb). In search of advice from this Grammar Girl, I did some clicking around and stumbled upon some areas that I thought would be interesting to re-learn. (Admit it, most of us haven’t done much work with our grammar since high school). Omitting “that”Blond or Blonde?, and Ending a Sentence With an Abbreviation.

by juicyrai

I loved what I read! It was written in a way that was attention-grabbing and yet very informative. And Grammar Girl seems to only blog articles that are non-boring. Many use connections to professionally written newspaper articles or well-known brands for grammatical examples. I definitely learned more than just what the title of the articles indicated. This really surprised me considering how much I detested grammar throughout grade school because I though it was such a important yet boring subject! Grammar Girl’s advice is a gold mine for anyone:  those who struggle with proper written and/or spoken English grammar as well as those who don’t. One could probably find advice on almost any grammatical subject on this website and could choose to have it read to them through podcast! How cool is that?

In a nutshell, Grammar Girl taught me to trust my instincts (since I’m a native speaker of English) when it comes to omitting any excess use of the word ‘that’, the different between masculine and feminine uses for the words ‘blond’ and ‘blonde’, and that ending a sentence with an abbreviation should just be avoided so as not to confuse readers whether not the last word in a sentence is an abbreviation or not.

I hope to learn more about who and what Grammar Girl is and does and what else she can teach me about English; which I plan to do by ‘tuning in’ whenever my ears aren’t doing anything else (like while doing homework, getting ready for bed, or even while exercising)!

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

