Feb. 2 Class 2322 Reflection

Standard

In this class we discussed conflict management in terms of Public Relations (PR). “PR can be defined as the strategic management of conflict and competition”. Here, conflict is about confrontation and attacks and confrontation is about obtaining a goal sought by another such as customers.

We talked about some Real World examples of a PR conflict management, one of them being the lock down that occurred after a basketball game on Jan. 28, 2012  at Southeastern University. The SEU Facebook page blew up during and after the lock down with all kinds of comments from students and parents. Some were extremely concerned and almost angry while others were humorously indifferent about the whole event. These comments provided a threat for the University’s image, especially with Preview Days right around the Corner, but the PR management team did a great job by providing as much information as possible about the event and even gave credit to those that helped resolve the situation and the level of seriousness of it.

Conflict Management Life Cycle By Professor Childs

Based on the above visual example we reviewed later in class, the SEU PR team did a pretty good job with their conflict resolution because they were proactive, strategic, and reactive to the issue and made a good recovery in time for preview days.

Overall, conflict resolution for any PR represenative is an important part of the job in order to maintain a high level of public opinion for a company or its brand(s).

W

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

