The Beauty Department: A Casual PR blog

Standard

I absolutely am in love with the social media site, Pinterest. This is a site where one can go and post pictures of anything, well not anything inappropiate, but anything that provides inspiration. I use it for recipes, crafts and garden ideas, but primarily hair/ makeup inspiration but Pinterest also provides connections to other websites, blogs and videos. I’ll probably make many references to it on this blog because most things I find, I find from this site.

Anywaye, admidst the Hair/Makeup board (one of my favorites), I stumbled upon a great website: The Beauty Department. It’s run by Lauren Conrad, Kristin Ess and Amy Nadine (celebrities that want to promote their name as well as beauty help)  and is a great blog site where all kinds of beauty assistance is exchanged through tutorials, tricks, tips and products.

Hello World! The Beauty Department's Lauren Conrad, Kristin Ess and Amy Nadine

Recently, I learned how to do a waterfall braid, which a new type of french braid where hair is twisted in and then let go as more hair is twisted into it. It looks gorgeous!

These types of blogs are a great way for people specifically enthusiastic about hair/makeup to exchange ideas because it’s so interactive. “We really want to hear what you beauties think about what goes on here in The Beauty Department, so we’re opening up the comment boxes. Jump right in, respond to our posts, add your own thoughts, tips + tricks!”

Check it out for yourself if you’re interested in learning something new such as a quick and cute new everyday hair style.

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

2 responses »

  1. I love Lauren Conrad’s tips and tutorials! I had tried many (unsuccessful) times to fishtail braid my hair, and no matter how many pictures and blog posts I looked at, I couldn’t figure it out. Then I watched her video, and she made it so simple! I’m definitely going to check out her other ideas. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Peer Blog Comments COMM4333 | Jumping In

Leave a Reply

