Chobani’s Pinterest Interests

Standard

In the blog, “Chobani goes beyond yogurt to build an active culture on Pinterest”  on Ragan’s PR News Daily, Matt Wilson describes how a company, Chobani Greek Yogurt, benefits from using the website Pinterest as a part of their Social Media outreach.

I myself am a lover of the pin using website, but have yet to see a company take full advantage as Chobani has.

Chobani’s digital communications manager, Emily Schildt, began using the site for her own personal interest and soon fell in love with it as well. When she saw how many people posted recipes, some of them including Chobani yogurt as ingredient, she decided to start a page with just a few boards to help promote Chobani’s name.  Now the page has evolved to 10 boards and over 1,900 followers.

by bpende

At first, I was skeptical about the idea since it seemed dull for a yogurt company to have so many boards when all it really does is sell yogurt. But Schildt made the boards with such creativity. Reading what each board was called was actually my favorite part of the blog post. Chobani Fit, Choboniac creations and Flavor Inspiration are just three of the boards that you can find on the Chobani page. Chobani Fit has posts containing healthy recipes; Chobaniac Creations, however has pretty much anything that involves the yogurt as an ingredient and the Flavor Inspiration board contains suggestions for new flavors that people submit in picture form.

What’s nice about Pinterest, as Schildt recognized, is that instead of having to carefully analyze and construct a worded phrase (as PR professionals have to do on Twitter or Facebook) Pinterest contains only visual representations of idea sharing.

“It’s sort of the social network you can interact with between managing your other social networks,” she says.

Overall, this blog has taught me that Pinterest, although it’s is not quite as popular as Facebook/Twitter, is definitely a growing social media site. It shows much promise to companies who are looking for another way to put their name out their and better connect with the public.

To see the blog post for yourself, check it out here.

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

