Firm or Department?

Standard

According to my textbook, THINK Public Relations, “…the role of public relations within an organization depends on the type of organization, the perceptions of top management, and even the capabilities of the public relations executive.” (89).

Business Woman Consulting a Partner by inlinguaManchester

When I graduate, I will most likely look for a entry-level job in a smaller organization for multiple reasons. Smaller organizations tend to view their public relations (PR) departments as a nominal part of everyday business. PR writers working in this environment will only be responsible for producing the company newsletter as well as routine news releases.

These kinds of responsibilities are what I would feel comfortable doing right out of college. However, as I gained more knowledge and experience within the trade, I would look for a job in a larger organization where the PR department is more important and is very involved in management decisions.

I would much rather take the positive aspect of being told what to do when I first graduate, and then when I am more of a professional, telling others how to do what I know how to best.

Overall, I would prefer to work for an organization instead of a PR firm. Although most of a PR firm’s revenues are from implementing aspects such as new releases and organizing events or media tours, they are more about emphasizing the counseling aspects of their services in social media.

 

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

