More to Offer

Standard

by ~Aphrodite

Poynter’s News University has played a large role in my education of journalism and public relations.  I’ve used its online courses in almost every one of my public relations classes at SEU and even in High School classes as well.

But News University courses aren’t all that Poynter.org has to offer journalists and public relations writers. As told in their Mission Statement:

“The Poynter Institute is a school dedicated to teaching and inspiring journalists and media leaders. It promotes excellence and integrity in the practice of craft and in the practical leadership of successful businesses. It stands for a journalism that informs citizens and enlightens public discourse. It carries forward Nelson Poynter’s belief in the value of independent journalism in the public interest.”

, Poynter offers all kinds of courses to assist students and professionals alike.

Three of my other favorite offerings include their Media News website,where  there are multiple links to stories, blogs and news releases; their MediaWire site where users can find media industry news and commentary and the How To’s section of their website, where users can gain access to quick tips for building journalism skills such as reporting to using Twitter.

As I begin my career in the public relations aspect to  marketing, I will continue to utilize many of Poynter’s resources. They just have a great database of updated news information and quick tips for writing as well.

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

4 responses »

  1. The quote that you provided from Poynter sums it up well. Poynter is equipped to offer much more than just NewsU courses. My post on Poynter touched on some different sections of the site. I will be interested to explore the sections that you mentioned. I also liked your point about allowing Poynter to apply to more than just writing focused vocations. The site is truly versatile.

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments: Peer « Trial & Error in PR

  3. Wow, I never knew that Poynter offered so much more than just journalism and public relations courses. I should really get onto looking at those pages that you recommended. The idea behind the MediaWire site sounds a little funny though, you know, “news about news”? There might even be something that I’m missing from the general “how to” page, also.

  4. Pingback: Blog Comments (Peer) « My Thoughts on PR + Social Media

Leave a Reply

