Blog Mining in Habitat Sarasota

Standard

Habitat for Humanity is an organization committed to their mission:

To partner with God and community to provide decent, affordable housing for people in need so they may build better lives for their families”.

What I love about Habitat for Humanity is that they are extremely dedicated to the cause of filling the unbelievable need that plagues most every city in America— homelessness. And Habitat does it in any way they can.

by Chris Garrison

I’ve been to some of the Fundraising events put on by the Sarasota Habitat team. My favorites include the 5k “fun” runs such as the “Turkey Trot” as well as the beach runs during the summers.

Blog mining is a term that indicates searching blogs for useful information. But as a student, it has a different meaning. As described by my professor, blog mining is a process students go through that involves studying an organization’s blog and focusing on a positive or problematic opportunity that could provide meaningful feedback to that organization; then, the student’s job is to figure out how the organization should respond.

Naturally, Habitat for Humanity has a lot of positive opportunities that could provide meaningful feedback to its volunteers and sponsors, but the blog post that sticks out to me the most is the one about “The Church of the Palms Ground Breaking Contribution” posted on Sept. 10, 2011.

In short, “Habitat for Humanity Sarasota’s long-time partner, Church of the Palms, expressed their continued support of Habitat’s affordable-housing program with a $28,800 co-sponsorship towards a new home on Worrington Street.”

A contribution of this magnitude shows how well Habitat for Humanity has done with sticking to their mission. Church of the Palm’s support proves how high the public’s opinion is of Habitat’s efforts as well as the fact that Habitat remains one of the great leaders within the community in terms of aiding those that need it most. I would say that Habitat should respond to this with renewed motivation; and to the people working with and within Habitat for Humanity, keep up the good work! If one were to peruse (mine) the other news releases on this organization’s blog, he/she would see how well everyone involved has certainly done in getting their community involved with helping those that cannot help themselves.

“When the Son of Man comes…The King will reply, Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.”
-Matthew 25: 31-40.

As a follower of Christ, I support the efforts of Habitat for Humanity because they extend my reach of helping those I could not reach out to by myself.

To read more stories about Habitat for Humanity Sarasota, visit their blog here.

 

 

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

