3/1/12 Reflection: Communication and Measurement

Standard

Overall the subject of tonight’s class is communicating and how to measure if the communication was successful.

First, we discussed different three similar models of how we communicate with one another and even how to communicate with people across different cultures. Mass Media researcher, Wilbur Schramm, explains communication through three models within the textbook, THINK Public Relations, one being the simple communication model displayed below.

"Shared Fields of Experience" by Wilbur Schramm

Information is sent from a source that encodes the original message through a signal to a  destination that will decode the message. The same color “Field of Experience” that surrounds both entities that the message is sent to and fro denotes the common language/experience that the sender and receiver share. Without a language or overlapping cultural background, the communication will be distorted or unsuccessful.

During the second half of class, the two owners of Linda Marie Weddings and Events visited and asked the class for help with the social media aspects of their business. Grouped in pairs, the class then brainstormed ideas for the company and presented them to the owners.

Adrian and I discussed how they can better use their Twitter account, such as engaging in Twitter chats, as well as how to better make use of Pinterest, their blog and how to get more traffic to their affiliates. The entire class presented awesome ideas and everyone learned something new. It was great to brainstorm ideas as if we were working for a client! I know I’ll be able to utilize what I learned in class today in the future when I engage in a Public Relations/Marketing career.

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

