Spin Control: Ford and the White House

Standard

I think it is safe to say most of us watch TV, in which case some of us have probably seen the old Ford commercials where Ford dealers would put “real life” Ford owners into surprise press conference rooms where they would be asked questions about their new Ford purchase.

If you can recall these commercials, perhaps you can remember the one aired in Sept., 2011, where a buyer says, “I wasn’t going to buy another car that was bailed out by the government. I was going to buy from a manufacturer that’s standing on their own: win, lose, or draw. That’s what America is about is taking the chance to succeed and understanding when you fail that you gotta’ pick yourself up and go back to work.”

If you do not remember this commercial, it is probably due to the fact that the commercial was allegedly requested to be pulled from TV after a call to Ford from the White House. (View the commercial in the below video).

 

 

Although shocking at first and seemingly a strike at our right to the freedom of speech, I believe Ford might have blurred the line that separates a press conference and paid advertisement. Because the government does have the right to regulate TV, I believe that the White House’s request to pull the Ad from television was not out of line or without reason.

The comment the man said in the commercial,I , myself, find offensive anyway. Sure it is his opinion, and everyone is obligated to one, but I think that a very historically prominent American company’s advertisement of the government’s “bad decision’s” has nothing to do with the value of the car ( in that it doesn’t help it run any better) and that it is also in bad taste (or in other words, poor PR planning) to air it as if the legalistics of the government had anything to do with making cars run better.

Overall, I’m glad that this commercial is no longer being aired on public television, but whether it was taken off the air or not, it does not affect me personally other than turning off my appreciation for the long-term American qualities of Ford.

To find out more about the situation surrounding this incident, click here.

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

