Writing Your Own Introduction

Standard

Guest speakers often must provide their own introductions when they’re invited to speak somewhere. These introductions, however, must be written in a way that someone else can introduce the speaker to the audience.

Lisa B. Marshall

So the question today is, how does one write an engaging introduction? To start with, here are some tips from Public Speaker, Lisa B. Marshall:

1) Ask yourself what the purpose of the speech is and mention the main topic of it and three memorable subtopics.

2) Build rapport by analyzing your audience and finding common ground that can help you make a instant connection.

3) Be brief and conversational. Ask questions or make statements that allow the audience to interact with what you’re saying.

4) Use proper body language to communicate positives and a sense of openness.

I think, though, that the most important thing to remember is to be yourself. Let the audience know who you really are and allow them the chance to get to know you; this will give them more of a reason to listen and digest your message.

For more information, visit Marshall’s website, here, or visit the Quick and Dirty Tips website where Marshall discusses Introductions.

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

2 responses »

  1. Great tips from Lisa B. Marshall! Building rapport helps connect the audience to the speaker and prepares them to listen. If they don’t know why or who they are listening to, it sometimes won’t matter what the speaker is saying. I also like the part of being open and conversational. Thanks for posting!

    Christina Miller

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments: Peer COMM4333 « Public Relations

Leave a Reply

