Lobbying and Social Media

Standard

Lobbying is commonly known as groups of people attempting to influence the decisions made by government and/or legislative officials.

I do not follow along with politics enough to “have a view” and determine if the group is exercising undue influence in shaping legislation. But what I can discuss is how certain groups utilize social media to influence people and grow their support/fan base.

"Tent City Actions Capitol Hill" By by 99inDC

Lobbyists can utilize social media in a similar way small businesses can. Some examples are stated below.

1. Blogging- Lobbyists can utilize blogs to promote their ideas, events, news and/or accomplishments.

2. Twitter- Tweeting about events, news, politicians, current or past feats or  struggles can encourage others to get involved and see what is happening within the group.

3. Facebook- Facebook is a great site to get all of the followers on at once and maintain a group communication about current events, news, ideas and schedules.

4. YouTube- Posting videos is also a great way to get a bigger fan base because YouTube reaches a wider audience. Plus, more people are likely to watch a video describing a cause rather than reading about it.

5. Pinterest- Posting any kind of visual aid about the cause the group is lobbying for will attract more eyes than words, thus, Pinterest’s use of gathering and sharing videos and pictures such as event photos or infographics is a great way to spread the idea and attract supporters.

A prime example of a group that has successfully utilized social media to advertise their campaign is the Occupy Wall Street movement.

For more information about Lobbying and social media, google’s search engine brings up some interesting links.

 

 

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

