A “Site” For Sore Eyes

Standard

How many screens do you find yourself looking at on a daily basis? For how long?

A study posted in the NY Times states that most people spend up to 8 hours a day staring at screens (NYTimes.com)!

At first, I found this hard to believe, but after thinking about it I realized that my eyes are sometimes incredibly sore at the end of a day. This article by Kevin Allen of PR News Daily provides an infographic that describes some helpful ways that one can help reduce eye fatigue otherwise known as “computer vision syndrome” or CVS.

"Computer Eye" By IRPC

My favorite tips are as follows.

1. Take Breaks– Use the 20-20-20 Rule: Every 20 minutes, look at something 20 feet away for 20 seconds.

2. Avoid CRT Screens– Low radiation from CRT screens can cause eye irritation. LCD (Liquid Crystal Display) screens (typically flat screens) are better for eyes than CRT (Cathode Ray-Tube) screens are.

3. Download an Eye-Care App– Eye Apps are capable of doing great things to help one monitor their eyes because they can signal the user when to take breaks as well as scan the users eyes to see if he/she is near or farsighted. They’re a great tool to have if one’s experiencing eye fatigue or if one wears contacts.

To find out more about Eye care, visit the above link to Kevin Allen’s post on the PR News Daily website.

About cynflynn91

Welcome! My name is Cynthia Melendez-Flynn! In a nutshell, I am a senior studying Marketing and Public Relations at Southeastern University. I am also the Senior Captain of the Cross Country and Track team at SEU, I work 2 jobs—one as a lifeguard and the other as a server in the on-campus restaurant, and I am the marketing and PR intern with a local wedding planner! I love all shades of purple, Salsa dancing, all music that has heart, Swedish fish and Take 5s. I met my boyfriend our freshman year about 3 years ago and when I'm not studying, socializing, or working you can find me out running! I use this blog as an educational diary to keep track of all that I have learned about public relations and marketing as well as a means to share my knowledge. You’ll stumble upon posts from my past classes-- PR Applications and Writing for PR and Advertising-- as well as posts for my current PR class Corporate Public Relations! Please feel free to share and comment inspirations and knowledge throughout my blog!

Leave a Reply

